Payroll software in Oman: SPF, WPS and end-of-service
A payroll in Oman has to get three things right every month: SPF contributions, the Oman WPS file, and end-of-service accruing on the right wage. Here is what each involves, how AhlanHamad runs them, and how the payroll systems that serve Oman compare.
What a payroll in Oman must do
Social insurance
Social Protection Fund (SPF) contributions apply to Oman's nationals and other GCC nationals; expatriates are covered only for the maternity and sick leave branch. The employee and the employer each pay a share, and the contributory wage has a ceiling — a single flat percentage gets higher earners wrong. Details
The WPS file
Oman's Wage Protection System takes a salary file submitted through your bank; a bank can ask for its own layout, so check it on the first upload. Details
End-of-service
End-of-service is set by Oman Labour Law (Royal Decree No. 53/2023) and computed on the basic wage. Ask to see each employee's accrual every month, not only at exit. Details
How AhlanHamad runs payroll in Oman
- Approve the month's run; SPF is calculated for each employee it applies to, on the employee and employer shares.
- Yes — builds the Oman WPS salary file from each approved payroll run, ready for your bank
- Each employee's end-of-service accrues on the statutory wage basis, so the liability is visible every month, not only at exit.
- Payslips go out in Arabic and English, and employees see them in the employee app on their phone.
Payroll systems for Oman compared
Last updated:
| Software | Oman WPS file | SPF calculation | Arabic interface | Public pricing | Free trial | Hosting region |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AhlanHamad | Yes — builds the Oman WPS salary file from each approved payroll run, ready for your bank [1] | Yes — SPF employee and employer shares, with the contributory-wage ceiling [2] | Yes — the full product and site in Arabic and English [3] | Yes — prices published per employee [4] | Yes — 30 days, no card required [5] | A Convex cloud region on AWS, outside the GCC; in-country hosting available by contract [6] |
| ZenHR | Not stated publicly [7] | Not stated publicly [8] | Yes — Arabic and English interface [9] | Quote-based; its FAQ says prices start at US$8 per user per month, billed annually [10] | Not stated publicly [11] | Not stated publicly — says "regional data centers" without naming a country [9] |
| Zoho Payroll / Zoho People | Yes — states compliance with Oman's Wages Protection System [12] | Yes — states automated SPF contributions [12] | Not stated publicly for the product — an Arabic edition of the website is offered [12] | Yes — Zoho Payroll from US$10 per organisation per month billed annually, 5 employees included, then US$2 per additional employee [13] | Yes — 14 days for Zoho Payroll [13] | Data centre set by the country chosen at signup; Oman is not a listed region [14] |
| Odoo HR / Payroll | Yes — its version 20.0 Oman documentation describes an Oman WPS export (.csv) [15] | Yes — its version 20.0 Oman documentation covers SPF contributions [15] | Not stated publicly [16] | Yes — one app free; Standard US$16.90 and Custom US$32.00 per user per month (12-month introductory discount; US$21.10 and US$40.00 after) [17] | Yes — free trial offered; length not stated [18] | Middle East region: production in India and Saudi Arabia, backups in France, the Netherlands and Canada [19] |
| gulfHR | States automated WPS file generation; the country is not specified [20] | Not stated publicly [20] | Yes — states "Arabic language support" [20] | Quote-based — "Get Your Free Demo & Quote" [20] | A 30-day free pilot for companies with 500+ employees [20] | Not stated publicly — says cloud hosting, without naming a country [20] |
Methodology: every fact about another product comes from that vendor's own public website on 15 October 2026, and links to the page it was read from. Where a vendor's site does not say, the cell reads "Not stated publicly" — we do not infer. No ratings or reviews are included. Details change; confirm with each vendor before deciding, and tell us if anything here is out of date so we can correct it.
Sources
- AhlanHamad: https://ahlanhamad.com/om/en/wps/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- AhlanHamad: https://ahlanhamad.com/om/en/social-insurance/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- AhlanHamad: https://ahlanhamad.com/om/ar/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- AhlanHamad: https://ahlanhamad.com/om/en/pricing/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- AhlanHamad: https://ahlanhamad.com/om/en/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- AhlanHamad: https://ahlanhamad.com/legal/subprocessors/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- ZenHR: https://blog.zenhr.com/en/wps-salary-transfers-in-the-gcc-ksa-uae-bahrain-qatar — accessed 15 October 2026
- ZenHR: https://blog.zenhr.com/en/what-hr-system-is-best-for-managing-expat-employees-in-the-gulf — accessed 15 October 2026
- ZenHR: https://www.zenhr.com/en/hr-software-kuwait — accessed 15 October 2026
- ZenHR: https://www.zenhr.com/en/faqs — accessed 15 October 2026
- ZenHR: https://www.zenhr.com/en/zenhr-pricing — accessed 15 October 2026
- Zoho Payroll / Zoho People: https://www.zoho.com/en-om/payroll/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- Zoho Payroll / Zoho People: https://www.zoho.com/en-om/payroll/pricing/ — accessed 15 October 2026
- Zoho Payroll / Zoho People: https://www.zoho.com/know-your-datacenter.html — accessed 15 October 2026
- Odoo HR / Payroll: https://www.odoo.com/documentation/20.0/applications/hr/payroll/payroll_localizations/oman.html — accessed 15 October 2026
- Odoo HR / Payroll: https://www.odoo.com/documentation/19.0/applications/general/users/language.html — accessed 15 October 2026
- Odoo HR / Payroll: https://www.odoo.com/pricing — accessed 15 October 2026
- Odoo HR / Payroll: https://www.odoo.com/trial — accessed 15 October 2026
- Odoo HR / Payroll: https://www.odoo.com/privacy — accessed 15 October 2026
- gulfHR: https://gulfhr.com/ — accessed 15 October 2026
Free Oman payroll tools
Details of other products are taken from each vendor's public website on 15 October 2026 and may have changed since. Product names are trademarks of their owners and are used only to identify them. General information, not legal advice.
Frequently asked questions
Who pays SPF in Oman?
Social Protection Fund (SPF) contributions apply to Oman's nationals and other GCC nationals; expatriates are covered only for the maternity and sick leave branch. The employee and the employer each pay a share, and the contributory wage has a ceiling — a single flat percentage gets higher earners wrong.
How does the Oman WPS file work?
Oman's Wage Protection System takes a salary file submitted through your bank; a bank can ask for its own layout, so check it on the first upload. AhlanHamad builds the file from your approved run; you stay in control of the submission.
How is end-of-service calculated in Oman?
End-of-service is set by Oman Labour Law (Royal Decree No. 53/2023) and computed on the basic wage. Ask to see each employee's accrual every month, not only at exit.
How much does AhlanHamad payroll cost?
Prices are published per employee per month on the pricing page, with every module included, and there is a 30-day free trial with no card required.